Rick Kemp:

THE Rick Kemp album is called Escape and is recorded on the Fellside label (FECD114). It received contributions from Michael Chapmen, Andrew 'Spud' Sinclair, Charlie Carruthers, Ian Kellet, Maddy Prior, Troy Donockley, Linda Adams, Theresa Kemp, Ric Alexander, Nick Holland, Rod Clements, Arther Belcher, Nikki White, John Kirkpatrick and Lindsey Miller.

[Kemp - Escape]
     Track list:
  1. What you see is what you get
  2. Brampton to roadhead blues
  3. Over my head
  4. Deep in the darknest night
  5. Nobody put you on the train
  6. Waiting for a miracle
  7. Queen of light
  8. Phoenix
  9. Genocide*
  10. Fighting on the same side
  11. Escape
  12. Somewhere along the Road

     Other credits:
  Production: Rick Kemp and Paul Adams
  Recording engineer: Paul Adams
  Recording assistants: Graham Bell and Richard Adams
  Mixing: Roy Neave (except * mixed by Paul Adams)
     I have listened to the album a few times now and I must say it is good to hear Rick back making music again. I always find it hard trying to discribe good music, but I would say this is much more in the 'good old' rock and roll vein.....ish! But to say that is a bit misleading, as there are some good quiet numbers. There are some excellent renditions of Rick Classics like 'Deep in the Darkest Night' and 'Somewhere along the road' Which interestingly Maddy does not sing in. This I think is a good thing as it is after all a Rick Kemp album. What I mean by that is, it is good to hear Ricks songs sung by Rick and thus interpreted how he would like them and not to be overshadowed by the Great Maddy Prior! Maddy makes three appearances in the backing vocals on tracks five six and seven and there is no mistaking her wonderful voice! But I am biased so I would say that.

Tony Wighton